Things to keep in mind for Kickstarter

Suggestions to the developers about Chasm.
fawz
Supporter
Supporter

Things to keep in mind for Kickstarter

Post by fawz » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:53 pm

So as was recently announced Chasm will soon be starting a Kickstarter campaign. This is very exciting as it opens the possibility for the game to turn into much more then was originally planned. However it doesn't mean it's an easy way to get access to free funding. Not only is it really tough to have a successful Kickstarter campaign, but it adds a bunch of responsibilities and expectations to the project.

I'm no expert on the mater having never launched my own Kickstarter project, but I have backed a bunch and kept an eye out on all the major video game campaigns. A few minor changes can go a long way into making the campaign a success or a failure. If anyone disagrees with some of my points or wants to add anything, do tell! I've made this post because I really believe in Chasm and would be distraught were it not to reach it's full potential. Here's a few things I think should be kept in mind when the campaign will be put in place.

Kickstarter Page Content
  • Reasonable initial goal for the project. Not too high to sound cocky and miss on all the funding amassed that falls short of the target, and not too low to pass under everyone's radar. A good middle ground with eventual stretch goals is best.
  • Have the ability to upgrade funded tier (move from tier 1 to tier 2) and have addons (add item a for x$ to any tier).
  • Good extensive FAQ to cover all the technical questions instead of having too much info in the main body. Go over platforms, steam availability, GoG, controllers, ect...
  • Clear contact and more info sources outside Kickstarter page (Website, Forums, Blog, Twitter, Youtube, Facebook).
  • Good stream of updates based on Kickstarter status. Keep people checking back on what's happening with the project. Make it feel alive!