Supporter
Supporter

German Translation/Translation Tool

Post by Marcel » Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:40 pm

Hi Discord Games Team,

I recently found your kickstarter page and backed your project, because:

AWESOME AS FUCK!!!!!!!!!!!

EDIT:
You can find the german translation here: http://discordgames.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=98
Or here: http://lang.chasmonline.com
Made by user Mochizuki

So..i wonder if you plan to offer text translations for your game (e.g.: German, Polish etc.)

If so, I would be glad to help you out with your german translation :) I am a developer myself (C++, PHP, C#)...and i know you are using XNA for your game :O

I could create a little helper Tool (maybe with WPF) for translation support. So other users might as well have the ability to create translations for your game! I guess, offering translations is always a clever move?!

Hope you think about it, i would really like to do it :) But I don't want to use IL Spy or something to make a patch for it ;)

Regards,

Marcel
Last edited by Marcel on Fri May 10, 2013 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Soon, there will be a cool link for Chasm translations here...hopefully :P

James
Developer
Developer

Re: German Translation/Translation Tool

Post by James » Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:52 pm

I can't give out source code, but I think the dialogue could be replaced pretty easy. It's in the Database/dialogue.xnb file. As for all the menu options and stuff, I will have to think about. It might not be too hard to move that text out to data files as well ;)

Marcel
Supporter
Supporter

Post by Marcel » Fri Apr 19, 2013 7:48 pm

Hi,

i will take a look into it tomorrow, the source is not needed, at least the strings are important. I could use the xnb or an extra file with strings only...for the xnb i will have to look into it a little bit :)

But an extra string resource file would be easier to handle i guess.